Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The modern society is divided on the issue of whether youngsters should be compelled to be involved in voluntary community-based enhancement tasks. While many believe in their considerable merits, I strongly support the idea that individuals also run some risks participating in these activities.

On the one hand, doing unsalaried work presents teenagers as well as the society with several favorable effects. Firstly, young adults carrying out these duties can build on a firm foundation for their future career. To clarify, the process of completing missions and interacting with different groups of people provides involving members first-hand experience in disparate fields along with the manipulation of soft skills. For example, via helping the disabled, volunteers can acquire some medical knowledge and caretaker skills, assisting them in preparing for nursing jobs. Secondly, volunteering foreshadows well-connected communities. Not only do those activities contribute to improving community's life but it also spreads sympathy among the population. Distance and gap, accordingly, are filled, which means residents’ intimacy.

On the other hand, should this idea be put into practice, the following demerits need considering. Mental problems are regarded as the foremost disadvantages. Due to the compulsion of unpaid community service, a number of youngsters would run into unwillingness to cooperate. Therefore, when coming up against difficulties, they have no intention of sharing to others, predisposing them of stress and even depression. Additionally, forcing juveniles into working for no money in leisure time irrespective of family conditions is impractical. This is the case of adolescents whose families are not wealthy or privileged. Obviously, instead of indulging themselves with unsalaried grind, those children had better spend time supporting family finance or taking part-time jobs to help their own parents.

In sum, the point of all teenagers being obligated to take part in local volunteer projects seems both beneficial and adverse. However, it is advisable that these schemes should be adapted after adolescents’ status being agonized over.