Some people think that all universities students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether the subjects in the universities should depend on the free choices of the students or should all of them are predetermined is a controversial topic. In my opinion, it is best to have some fundamental ones compulsory while let the others voluntary.

Those who support the idea of study at will might argue that it help to improve the commitment of the students. Learning for score only is a common and well-known problem in educational environments. As a result, many students just study for the test by learning the trick or learn by heart in the last minute only to forget almost all afterward in stead on gaining actual understanding. In addition, each person has a different starting point, some may already achieve the requirement for the subject earlier. For example, in contrast to most people of his time, Bill Gate already learned about computer when he was in highschool so it was unnecessary to repeat the process. Time and effort could be saved by letting student choose regard their abilities.

On the other hand, most careers require key experiences that a voluntary scheme could not guarantee since many of them are so hard that people want to avoid. For example, doctor must master the human anatomy whether their interest. Allowing medical student to skip the subject would put the patient health at risk. Moreover, making suitable decision required full knowledge about the field, which could not be required in an unseasoned person. For this reason, professors in the universities should determine the mandatory subjects.

In conclusion, each ideas has their own advantages and drawbacks. For me, I think there should be some compulsory key subjects to assure basic requirement for the field while leaving a proportion of credits to voluntary ones to left room for the learner’s abilities could flourish.