Some people think that all universities students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views with regard to whether students should be entitled completely to decide their curriculum. While some argue that the students should only focus on subjects which may be beneficial to their future, I firmly believe that everyone should be able to study the courses of their choice

On the one hand, focusing on key subject areas such as those related to science and technology brings some certain advantages. Because demand for labor in these fields tends/has a tendency to increase more and more, it can be argued that these courses in university provide more job opportunities, better salaries, career progression and consequently improve life quality for students who take them. On the societal level, advances in such areas are the main factors driving the economic growth in the modern world. Therefore, high skilled workforce in the field of science and technology can lead to new interventions, promote economic growth and secure a thriving future

In spite of these arguments, I believe university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. Firstly, each subject has its own particular role in contributing to the comprehensive development of students. Indeed, while scientific and technological subjects help enhance the ability of logical and critical thinking, the others such as sport and art are of great importance to attributes like creativity and collaborative skill. Besides, nobody can really predict which subjects will be most useful to society in the future. Finally, the process of acquiring knowledge can merely be productive when students passionate about what they are learning

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only the most useful subjects, I personally prefer current system in which students have right to study whatever they like