Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Government and society have long sought ways in which to improve educational quality. While some people believe that students should be able to select various optional subjects others think that they should study only several science-related subjects. As well as offering my personal opinion, this essay will discuss both of these views and show why the limited choice of study disciplines is not an effective measure of education.

Nowadays, great attention is paid to science, education and high technologies. So, the demand for new professions and specializations in various science fields is growing every year. The main reason is that these kinds of subjects contribute visibly to society. For example, improvements in robotics rely on advances in mathematical research, engineering and IT. Only allowing students to study these kinds of subjects will mean that there will be more people available for work in these areas.

On the other hand, those who support the opinion that students should be able to choose their favorite area of study have their own reasons as well. Society is not able to predict the future and what kind of abilities or skills that people will need. Nowadays, many HR departments pay more attention to soft-skills like leadership and team creativity, and this trend continues to rise. If students are only trained to be good scientists or engineers, they may not be able to succeed in these fields. Clearly, strict control over education and reducing the number of disciplines are not the best way to improve teaching.

In conclusion, while it may seem reasonable to teach students science-related subjects that are currently viewed as useful, I believe that allowing students to choose what they want will help society be better prepared for whatever changes the future will bring.