Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that school curricula should include community work, and pupils ought to do it free of charge. This essay will show that such experience at school can be beneficial for children as they learn to be better people and more responsible citizens towards their country.

To commence with, volunteering teaches people to behave more better with others, not to be different to others’ needs and lend a hand to strangers when it is needed. It is seen that children acquire these qualities since a very early age, and schools can provide a great opportunity to do that. Looking from my point of view, I can say that the school where I used to study made me a kinder, more considerate person when my fellow peers and I participated in a special programme that was aimed at helping older people.

Futhermore, many critics around the world claim that it is important to make even young children aware of the fact that they are citizens of their country, and that they have their rights and responsibilities. Therefore community service can certainly raise this awareness by showing that even very young people can improve the world around them. For example, in my hometown in India, schoolchildren are encouraged to collect recyclable materials such as plastic, paper and glass, and everything that is collected by them are used in all recyclables region to help needed ones.

To conclude, it is no doubt that if youngsters are working in community service they will be polite to others and responsible towards their nation.