Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views and

Controversy over the idea of whether undergraduates should be allowed to follow their own will or it should be something mandatory for these to pursue subjects pertain to sciences and technology.

On the one hand, there is no surprise at the reason why many assume that strive for required subjects like technology and science is pragmatic for college students. Companies have to catch the wave if they want to survive, as the result of the evolution of industrialization 4.0. Therefore, career opportunities such as programmers, scientists, or engineers will be open than ever, with promotion prospects and competitive salary packages. For example, regarding research of the labor market in Vietnam in 2020, fresher graduates with major in Information Communication Technology have no problem when seeking jobs, and the payroll was expected to be highest, compared with students from other majors. Furthermore, the two fields have been envisioned to be unceasing. By virture of such, studying these professionally may guarantee the future of an individual in an enduringly developing world.

On the other hand, individuals, despite their ages should not be seized freedom rights, including the right to pursue ambitions. The same applies to undergraduates. They cannot be limit in approaching their favorite subjects. Evidence demonstrates that if someone is obliged to undertake something they are not passionate about, it can lead to abasement and animosity for them. However, on a contrary scenario, a college student who has a comprehensive course of the law can become a lawyer, a judge, or a counselor in the forthcoming. Consequently, he can execute justice and integrity to the civilians and the society, contributing to developing the world in a moral aspect.

In sum, I take on the viewpoint that all students should be allowed to choose what they want to learn without restrictions.