Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Controversy over the idea whether undergraduate should be allowed to follow their own will or it should be something mandatory for these to pursue subjects pertain to sciences and technology.

On the one hand, there is no surprise at the reason why many assume that strive for required subjects like technology and science is pragmatic for college students. Companies have to catch the wave if they want to survive, as the result of the evolution of industrialization 4.0. Therefore, career opportunities such as programmer, scientists or engineer will be open than ever, with promotion prospects and competitive salary packages. For instance, regarding a research of the labour market in Vietnam in 2020, fresher graduates with major in Information Communication Technology have no problem when seeking jobs, and the payroll was expected to be highest, compared with students from other majors. Furthermore, the two fields have been envisioned to be unceasing, so studying these professionally may guarantee future of an individual in an enduringly developing world.

On the other hand, individual despite ages should not be seized freedom rights, including right to pursue ambitions as well as undergraduate cannot be limit in approaching their favorable subjects. Evidence demonstrates that if someone is obliged to undertake something they not passionate about, it can lead to abasement and animosity for them. However, on a contrary scenario, a college student who has a comprehensive course of the law can become a lawyer, a judge, or a counselor in the forthcoming. Consequently, he or she can execute justice and integrity to the civilians and the society, which contribute to develop the world in a moral aspect.

In sum, I take on the viewpoint that all students should be allowed to choose what they want to learn without restrictions.