Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued that undergraduates should only have a concentration on which subjects that will help them to pursue their future, such as science and technology. In my opinion, however, I believe that university learners have the right to study what they like.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why some think that it is not necessary to allow students to choose their favorites. Firstly, if students are distracted by many things, they may devote insufficient time to studying deeply their primary majors. With two important subjects like science and technology, which demand concentration to understand, distraction may create a knowledge hole in students. This is likely to result in poor academic performance, leading to difficulties in seeking a secured job. Moreover, caring about several subjects simultaneously may put students in a high risk of stress or mental health problems. Therefore, undergraduate learners only should build up their knowledge on certain subjects.

On the other hand, I would argue that studying preferred subjects is also beneficial for university students because of several reasons. The first reason is that people are different in their preferences. For example, males may be interested in science, while arts or humanity-based subjects can be more appealing to females. Therefore, learners have their own right to study whatever they are fond of. Another reason is that there are some subjects, foreign languages, for example, which will benefit students' future, besides science and technology. Learning new languages brings individuals more employment possibilities due to the increasingly international incorporation in recent years.

In conclusion, I believe that students should be allowed to follow their preferences instead of only focusing on certain subjects that are considered to benefit their future.