Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

The count held by some that university students should focus on subjects that will be useful in the future like science and technology is apparently vulnerable on the ground of two reasons. Let me delve into details for you.

Firstly, the argument about usefulness will never be settled. Scientists may believe that subjects associated with science accounts for the majority proportion of whole human knowledge leading human race to explore the mysteries of obscure universe. Yet artists will defend that aesthetic ability matters too with function of providing delicate interior spaces, fashionable garments. Entomology cannot be eliminated just for reason that some consider it as useless. Actually, entomology open a window into the world we shared in a different angle by observing habitats of insects, how these little cute critters survive and so on. In the scenario, every subject play its part serving to the common goat, discovering the cosmic and ourselves, and no one can be kicked out from attention. Like all living things on Earth deserve to be respected, to be protected, to be learned as when nature surfer, we surfer. What we know about this world is still a tiptoe of iceberg. So we should not let our small minds constrain university students’ desire in several limited areas.

Moreover, almost all of genius or pioneers in their particular fields made a huge contribution to human being due to their persistent pursuits and lasting interests. Interest is powerful dynamo pushing students to dig further and further. Interest is the key to open a new world when we encounter obstacles just like Hubble happened to find theory of big bang when he was furious about why starts got further away from us. Interest is a effective learning method to let us devote our whole time even whole life voluntarily to make a difference rather than forced by ambitious. Things are totally different when it comes to personal career expectations, students only care about, especially when they are blocked, whether learning this subject is useful and probabilities to quit account for a large proportion compared to learn for fun.

In the nutshell, university students should be encouraged to study whatever they are fond of. What we pass down to our next generations is our virtues rather than teaching them only care about what is useful.