Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people discussing legal changes for issuing a first driver licence, which should increase safety on roads. Every country in a world has different teaching methods, age requirement and rules how to become a driver. This essay will discuss how changes in age of first drivers could affect road safety.

Mostly in Europe, the law allows to obtain a driver licence to individuals eighteen years or older, however, in USA, Canada or Australia 16 years old teens could sit behind the steering wheel. Also, the way how to become driver differs. Countries in the European Union require new drivers to attend classes and practice on roads, but countries out of EU allows you to drive after you pass an exam only. Of course, these drivers get issued learner or practitioner licence and needs to be supervised by an experienced driver, however, the power of a car is in their hands.

Young people mostly experiencing and seeking adrenalin more than individuals in adult age. The power they have in a car, giving them chance to put not only their life but lives of others on the edge. Car or motor-bike could be a deadly weapon and inexperienced drivers are their operators. Driving skills needs a practice, respect and responsibility, which most of the teens in this era missing.

To sum up, changes in age of new drivers could help and prevent many road traffic accidents, however, road safety is a complicated and multilevel problem and changes in newbie drivers will not make a dramatic improvement.