Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that one should be older to be eligible to be a traffic participant. My own view is that, age is not a relevant and decisive factor to enhance road safety. I would like to state my opinions in the paragraphs below.

Not age, but the education system, does define how well one is equipped with the driving skills. Currently, the minimum requirement for the adult is to be over eighteen to drive. We assume that they are responsible and reliable enough. However, one’s ability can not be enhanced if he does not receive proper training and frequent practice, as they age. For example, according to an annual report from the Vietnam National Transportation Department, middle-aged and elder citizens have been responsible for the multitude of death caused by accidents while travelling or commuting by bikes and cars.

Having a good command of driving by itself can not prevent unexpected accidents without help from the government. Support systems in some countries, especially the developing ones, are not well-structured which have been the main causes of a significant number of accidents on the roads, for instance, lack of policy to improve infrastructure and poor skills training centers. Raising the legal age to drive will not alleviate the problems as someone expect because it is not a determining element contributing to the issues.

To conclude, in my opinion, it is not age that makes one being more skillful at driving but other factors from the training system and policy provided. Therefore, age restriction should not be a main concern in building a safer transport system.