Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people argued that an increasing in the minimum age of eligibility for drivers will improve road safety. While this idea might help reduce the number of road accidents, I could maintain that imposing stricter punishments on traffic law violators.

On the one hand, this policy might diminish traffic accidents which boosts the safety of roads. To be more specific, as commuters get older, they are more mature and responsible when they join in a traffic, resulting in lessening traffic incidents. Moreover, this practice also deters youngsters who are immature and unaware of the repercussions of their actions from careless driving. In both of these cases, the number of road incidents which causes unsafety road is limited, generating a safer environment for other commuters.

However, an increase in older licensing ages can only solve a limited part of these complex road safety enhancement. In reality, many youngsters nowadays still join in traffic without a driving licence, which causes traffic incidents become worse. Therefore, the most effective solution would be enacting more severe punishments that prevents drivers from committing traffic-based infringements. For example, drivers who exceed the speed limit or drink alcohol while joining the traffic should have to pay a heavy monetary fine or have their drivers’ licence revoked. As a result, more drivers will obey the rules when they are in the traffic, contributing to improve the safety of roads.

In conclusion, while rising minimum of legal age of vehicle users can partly improve road safety by discouraging the young from commuting, the ideal solution would be introducing much harsher punishments on those who violate laws. In my opinion, governments must also act them urgently to alleviate the perennial problems of road accidents and other related-traffic issues.