Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increse the minium legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A matter of considerable controversy for many issues at present is the issue of improving road safety. Some people hold faith that improving the minimum driving age is the optimal way to deal with this phenomenon. From my point of view, I partly oppose this policy as numerous approaches would be more proactive.

On the one hand, by lowering traffic collisions, raising the minimum age to drive can be beneficial because of several reasons. This strategy discourages immature, impressionable young commuting passengers from unsafe driving. Should people get older, they might become more responsible and aware of being in traffic. Additionally, raising the legal age for driving can provide adolescents to have manifold opportunities to sharpen their driving skills. Indeed, individuals can enrol in defensive driving classes to learn how to get acquainted with driving scenarios.

On the other hand, this proposal is unnecessary as there are two more effective solutions that should be mentioned in traffic. First and foremost, the government should give harsher penalties to deter drivers from violating traffic laws. For instance, motorists who drive while intoxicated or not wearing helmets should face manifold financial punishments or have their licenses suspended. Furthermore, the government should upgrade the infrastructure of public transportation such as bus or train services in order to encourage people to utilise them on a daily basis. Therefore, this could result in fewer individuals using private transportation and make roads safer.

In conclusion, despite the fact that increasing the legal age can improve road safety, I still hold faith that other methods are more efficient because not all accidents are caused by underage drivers.