Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been controversial whether extending imprisonment is the most effective way to lower the crime rate or there are alternatives to deal with the crime problem. While increasing the time in prison is a great solution, I believe that several solutions could be taken into consideration to reduce crime.

Indeed, putting people behind bars for a longer period can impact directly on the crime rate. Usually, when criminals are released from prisons, they immediately return to commit more crime due to the hardship of finding jobs. Therefore, enforcing extra years in jail restrict the number of criminals in the communities from increasing, which means that this method will affect positively on the crime rate. Additionally, a harsher punishment definitely teaches convicts lessons of receiving heavy consequences after committing any crimes. With the awareness of getting extremely long time in prison, people will have to double check when deciding to take bad actions.

However, increasing the time is not the most effective way. In fact, there are other methods which stop the occurrence of crime significantly in the long term. Firstly, governments should invest more national revenue in the education system. When a large proportion of population is well-educated and filled with civilized thoughts, they are not likely to commit crimes and get themselves into troubles. In order words, such an investment will greatly stop people from taking bad actions. Secondly, public areas should be equipped with surveillance cameras and watched over by more police. This ensures that suspicious strangers and behaviors will be closely observed to prevent any possible crime.

In conclusion, while giving longer prison sentences is one efficient way to reduce crime, I concretely believe that governments should consider greater alternative solutions to tackle the crime issue.