Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family.What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

It is thought by other people that businesses can be managed more efficiently within the control of family members. Though a family-run business has a sense of stability and committed leaders, it is not free of drawbacks.

There is a tremendous number of organizations run by a family nowadays, which are in the top rank due to several reasons. Firstly, family-run businesses provide management stability because a family position determines who will lead the company. As a result, there is a leadership longevity which is obviously essential to the continuous development of an organization. Secondly, the commitment of the family members in their own company is incomparable than to non-family firm, since they are sharing common goals. For instance, they have the willingness to perform jobs beyond their responsibility once it is badly needed, owing to the fact that their family needs are on stake.

On the other hand, family businesses are going through some difficulties as well. The foremost downfall is the highly practice nepotism, meaning, only close members of the family are being given high positions. It is inevitable that a growing business needs an expert guidance but due to reluctant of letting outsiders in top positions, the non-qualified immediate family are chosen. As a result, problems will arise when these people are hired with a lack of knowledge, skills, and experience. In the end, the company will suffer. Furthermore, family conflicts commonly emerge. Undeniably, problems are bound to happen within an organization and due to family involvement, issues are hardly solved and finally have difficulty endings.

To sum up, companies governed by families are advantageous as long as members are truly committed and unified, however, when these organizations developed into a bigger one, limitations on traditional management should be abolished to employ expert personnel.