Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to Increase the cost of fuel To what extent Do you agree or disagree

The notion that raising the cost of fuel for transportation can alleviate environmental issues has been gaining traction. From my point of view, while this solution can help tackle environmental problems to a degree, creating an incentive for individuals and enterprises to take action against these problems would be a more effective approach.

On the one hand, an increase in the cost of fuel may prove effective in decreasing the traffic volume, thus reducing harmful emissions that can affect the environment. First, this policy would raise people’s awareness on the frequency and length of their travels. Due to the rise in expenses, people would have to cut down on unnecessary trips. Moreover, as fuel prices soar, more sustainable mobility choices that rely less on carbon-intensive fuels, namely buses that run on biofuel, will witness a surge in demand. To illustrate, in America, since 2010, hybrid vehicles and smaller transports have had a growing market as a consequence of rising fuel prices.

On the other hand, increasing fuel cost cannot tackle all environmental issues. As a matter of fact, car emissions are not the sole cause, but emissions from livestock farming and other industries are also significant contributors to pollution. To illustrate, what is surprising is that livestock accounts for 64 percent of total methane emission - a destructive gas for the ozone layer. Hence, providing individuals and businesses with an incentive to protect the environment would be more effective. For example, the government can apply a lower tax on companies which leave less impact on its surroundings. In this way, enterprises will proactively find ways to reduce their carbon footprint.

All in all, increasing fuel prices can help solve environmental problems to a degree. However, the most effective solution would be to provide a stimulus for the society to intentionally reduce damaging impacts to our habitat.