Some people think the best way to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24/7. Do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jams have become one of the most dramatic problems in many metropolitans. Although free public transport is considered as a useful method for this issue, I asserted that this solution is not the ultimate way for reducing traffic congestion.

To begin with, by providing public means of transport without paying a fee, the authorities can reduce the use of private transportations like cars and motorbikes which are the two main reasons for traffic jams. As a result, an enormous number of personal vehicles have created a huge pressure on traffic flow, which caused Moreover, this way can help people with difficult financial circumstances to arrive at their destination anytime they want and it also plays an important role in rush hour solving. For example, if more people take the free public transport in peak times, fewer cars and motorbikes will appear that release more space as well as ease traffic. Furthermore, the traffic accidental rate is lower due to the result of settling traffic overload.

However, there are better solutions to improve this situation despite the argument above. Firstly, working from home should be incentives for people by organisations which could decline the obstruction status. For instance, after the Covid 19 pandemic, most of the firms still require their staff to work remotely in order to prevent the expansion of disease. This action has contributed directly to the traffic flow which reduces the number of participants and also many bottlenecks. Secondly, the government should propagate to citizens about the harmness of personal transportations. Although it is more convenient for people to drive to work or go to school on their own vehicle, the gas emission from means of transport has caused several detrimental effects to their respiratory system.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that provisioning free public transport may be a vital solution for reducing traffic jams, I personally believe that it is not the best solution to the issue.