Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree??

It is obviously clear that crime has been a perennial issue of any societies. Because of this, people have aggressively debated over what punishment should be administered to criminals. Some people believe that not all criminals are the same and therefore it would be more appropriate to give certain criminals community services instead of imprisoning them. I also think that in some cases, prisons would not be the best solution, and community services would bring some benefits.

First and foremost, prisons may not be a holistic approach to solve the problem of crime. One explanation for this is that keeping all criminals in jails may not ensure successful rehabilitation. Some inmates who commit not serious crimes like burglary or possession of drugs are mixed with other dangerous and violent criminals such as murders or robbers and this would have negative influence on them. They would reoffend or commit more serious crime after being released from prisons.

Moreover, there are several benefits of letting prisoners do community services. Firstly, inmates may learn the value of working and change their heart. This, therefore, would lead to successful rehabilitation which imprisonment sentence may not succeed. Secondly, prisoners can learn skills which help them to find job after serving their sentence in prisons, which also prevent them from reoffending. Finally, punishing criminals through community services may change the way people look at prisoners. People would not discriminate and this would help prisoners quickly reenter the society later.

In conclusion, putting criminals who are not a danger in prisons is not effective and would make the problem of crime worse. In my opinion community service would be more beneficial.