Some people think prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether offenders should devote their prison times serving the community as opposed to wasting it in jails have been a longing debatable topic. From my viewpoint, this policy might have positive impacts on both the nations and the criminals; however, it should be carefully carried out.

There is a whole host of justifications why this program will be beneficial. Firstly, it helps to reduce the stress on the government’s coffer, especially tackle the budget deficit and tax hikes problems. To be more specific, by forcing inmates to participate in community activities such as street cleaners or caregivers, the budget which used to be allocated to these sectors can be spent on other more prominent matters such as education and healthcare. Korea exemplifies this case very well as it is among the countries with the lowest crime rates, which has been acquired through the implication of the aforementioned policy. More interestingly, it also affects the rehabilitation of the prisoners, via mental effects. Through the progress of working inside the normal society, they are able to see life beyond the scope of their mind that might make them feel remorseful for their crimes. Thus, reducing the re-offend rates and orienting inmates to opt for a better life

However, such a delicate matter needs to be executed under strict observation and careful implementation. Firstly, this policy easily put the general public security at a disadvantage, for they are easy to be harmed by the culprits.In fact, some criminals are so dangerous that they may intentionally do harm to other people. So it is utterly vital to choose which offenders can partake in community service, and it demands flawless selection. Moreover, the working environment could generate the opportunity for the criminals to escape, since normally these works are done in an open area, and there might be insufficient administrators to supervise them.Thereby, the police force should consider deploying its ablest personnel for this program.

In conclusion, making lawbreakers serve their community has several virtues. Nevertheless, the implementation of such an approach should be supervised carefully by related parties.