Some people think the cheap air flight gives ordinary people more freedom. However, others think the cheap air flight should be banned because it pollutes the air and brings many other problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the advent of economical air travel. While lower airfares give ordinary people greater freedom to travel anywhere at any time they want, I would argue that the government should impose a total ban on cheap air flights since they do more harm than good.

To begin with, it is true that economical air services make it easier for ordinary people to go anywhere in the world without being preoccupied with financial matters. Firstly, as air flights become relatively affordable, people can go on a trip at any time without having to book tickets in advance in the hope of getting a good deal. Secondly, thanks to cheap flights, frequent overseas trips are no longer a pipe dream for the average man or woman in the street. As a result, these people could freely travel to many different places, even the most far-flung corners of the world such as the South Pole. If airplane ticket prices are exorbitantly high, then only the moneyed classes could afford such luxuries, which makes ordinary citizens feel a sense of social inferiority.

However, I suppose that these benefits are vastly outweighed by the following drawbacks, as a result of which cheap air flights should be strictly prohibited. First, a growth in air travel might result in a corresponding rise in the amount of plane exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere. Consequently, air pollution would occur and cause a variety of disastrous environmental impacts such as ozone depletion or acid rain. Secondly, when opting for budget airlines, people will have to come to terms with unpredictable flight delays and cancellations. This can be a demeaning and ultimately terrible experience, which hinders these individuals from enjoying their trips to the fullest. Furthermore, when people choose to fly with a low-cost airline, restricted baggage would be unavoidable. In fact, for most cheap airlines, passengers are allowed only one carry-on item and one personal item such as a laptop bag, which can be frustrating for some individuals.

In conclusion, although low-cost airline tickets offer more freedom to ordinary people, I still believe that cheap air flights should be banned because they bring about more disadvantages.