Some people think that children should be encouraged to compete, whereas others claim that competition is not good for children. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

One of the most debatable topics nowadays is whether children should be motivated to compete or not. While some people believe that this skill has to be developed from a young age, others argue that, on a contrary, it is beneficial to focus on co-operation. This essay disagrees with the approach that brings young people to a challenge of competing.

Promoting rivalry among offsprings is one of the strategies that adults pursue in upbringing. This tactics is helpful with certain soft skills, such as leadership and competitiveness, creating a solid foundation for a future job hunt. Despite this, some children can take it as a license to run amok, and this essay disagrees that even a healthy strive to conflict is acceptable. Poland is a prime example, where marks comparison was removed for the first grade students, to help deal with a previous experience of interruptive and impulsive behaviours in the class.

Another point of view is coming from those who feel that teaching a child to work together with the peers is a path to becoming someone who brings value to the world. Ability to co-operate helps to raise awareness of the social aspects, promotes respect and will to support others. It is therefore agreed that learning to put a collective effort early in life is beneficial for a person, so as for the community on a whole. For instance, in a 2020 social poll done in United Kingdom, all employees of Help UK Charity shared childhood memories, prioritising inclusion and assistance to their mates.

In conclusion, a feeling of competitiveness adopted at the early stages of life can serve as a paramount soft skill in future career domination, however, some still feel that it brings more harm than good and opt for a gentler approach, namely prioritising a sense of togetherness when dealing with tasks. Hence, even for the good purpose, the benefits of encouraging young people to rival are clearly negative.