Some people think that cities are the best place to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compared the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

In recent years, many individuals assume that it is better to locate their home in urban areas. Although some people are opposed to this opinion, I think that settling in metropolises has both benefits and downsides compared to living in the outlying areas.

Those who are opposed to living in large cities have their own reasons based on the drawbacks of that. The first concern is air quality ruin. Every day, there are numberous vehicles on the road, releasing a significant amount of exhausted fumes into the surroundings. In long run, the air quality is getting worse and citizens may suffer from some dangerous diseases such as lung cancer or other lung-related illnesses. Secondly, the cost of living in urban areas is by far higher than that in the countryside. For example, the cost on housing is many times as much as that in rural areas. As a result, dwellers may find it difficult to save and spend money reasonably for their living.

Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, settling in cities also has advantages. Firstly, the job market there is wider. There is a variety of occupations ranging from manual jobs to intellectual ones, which opens many chances for people. Another advantage is the service and infrastructure are more concerned in cities, urban children may have more opportunities to receive qualified academic education than those who are living in outlying areas. Undoubtedly, without well-developed infrastructure, the economy of that city or even the country may not be improved.

In conclusion, although people living in large cities might face several downsides, they also receive the benefits from that compared to those who are living in countryside.