Some people think city planners should create more green space and plant trees. Others believe that they should focus on building new houses.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays housing has become a controversial topic. While some individuals maintain that it's crucial to increase the number of houses, others support the idea that creating a green atmosphere by planting trees is more essential. In my view, I agree with the latter statement, because humans are part of nature and therefore tightly connected with it.

On the one hand, some people strongly feel that green space is very beneficial for humans and I agree. The first and the most significant reason behind such a view is that trees are the most effective solution in tackling such global problems as air pollution. They have been proven to reduce the effect of fumes on air. As a result, trees can provide people with higher quality air. This would, in turn, minimize the number of certain diseases. Another advantage is its positive effect on humans mental health and wellbeing. Green colour is considered to lower stress level, so looking at trees and other plants would undoubtedly make people relaxed. Also, visiting beautiful gardens and parks is a great relief for working class and the elderly alike. Having a walk in green surroundings can put an end to anxiety and can help people concentrate on positive thoughts. Finally, trees are a primary need for urban wildlife. For instance, birds need a place to create nests and reproduce. People should always bear in mind the existence of living creatures and try to create a habitat for them. Humans are responsible for maintaining ecosystem.

On the other hand, other people consider housing as a primary necessity for humans. Firstly, they strongly believe that cities have limited space and which should be mostly devoted to building houses in contrast to planting trees. Secondly, most cities are facing overpopulation issues, that can be tackled by constructing more multi-storey buildings. The last possible reason for such a view could be further development of cities. Without affordable housing there cannot be any progress. In order to eliminate high housing prices, new buildings should be constructed.

To conclude, although some people refute the idea of sparing more space for plants instead of housing, I strongly support it for aforementioned reasons.