Some people think city planners should create more green space and plant trees. Others believe that they should focus on building new houses.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Cities today are sprawling faster than ever. While some maintain that city space should be allocated to the creation of green places, others are of the opinion that construction of new houses is more important. I believe that city planners should be building both given how essential they are to city inhabitants’ living.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to argue that building new residential areas is the right use of available city space as space is an expensive commodity. Over the past years, accommodation prices in urban areas have risen considerably, and it is primarily because space shortage is driving up the prices. If city land was utilized to create more places of nature, city dwellers would be paying even more in the form of higher rent prices and taxes that would be needed to maintain those places. Even if this financial reason could be avoided, space shortage is an issue waiting in line to be addressed in this respect. World Bank projections show that the world population is expected to grow at a steady rate and reach 9 billion people by 2050, and to accommodate this many people, space in cities will have to be wisely used.

However, I do also think that cities benefit from creation of more green space in a number of ways. Firstly, natural landscapes built in cities add to the aesthetic appeal of the city infrastructure. Given how monotonous concrete buildings appear, parks and gardens would be needed to bring color to the look of the cities. Secondly, studies have shown that green spaces reinforce the overall well-being of city dwellers; there is certainly a value in trees creating clean oxygen for people to breathe. People who have more access to natural places tend to be more psychologically sound and happier.

In conclusion, considering the arguments put forward in favor of both sides, I would argue that city planners should focus on building houses as well as green spaces.