Some people think that communication by using computers and phones will have negative effects on young people's writing and reading skills. Do you agree or disagree?

With the plethora of high-tech devices, people are gradually switching from book reading and paper writing habit to texting using these new gadgets. Some argue that such a development will deliver negative impacts on the young’s abilities to read and write. In my opinion, I believe that communication via computers and phones could have both good and bad influences on individuals’ writing and reading skills.

To begin with, it is true that new electronic devices are causing detrimental changes in the way young people read and write. Since computers allow users to compose emails with an automatic correction system, individuals no longer have to care about the spelling and grammar in their writing. In the long term, young people will lose the awareness of correcting their own paperwork when it comes to paper-delivered exams or traditional letters, which will massively confuse the readers. Moreover, because texting on mobile phones is absolutely convenient, people tend to spend a huge amount of time communicating with as many acquaintances as possible during the day. As a result, the young do not have enough time to read and thus, their reading skill will be deteriorated.

However, with proper use of these modern gadgets, young people still can improve their reading and writing abilities. Firstly, if individuals do not rely too much on auto-correction, they can still be aware of their mistakes. Because such a function is designed to be easily turned on or off, balancing the use of this system could maintain the competence of good writing. Secondly, computers and smartphones offer a way to access unlimited information online, users’ reading skill will be improved if they take this advantage rather than wasting these devices for communication purpose only.

In conclusion, I believe that communication by using computers and phones could bring both benefits and bad effects on the young’s writing and reading skills.