Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspaper and TV há bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted on the media. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In modern days, crime is one of the main subjects of most media channels. To a certain extent, I agree that the detailed criminal description on newspaper and TV has bad influences in many ways so that this kind of information should be restricted on the media.

Firstly, as a common reader, it seemed to me that I have always been fallen in fear when reading about violent and bad news. In fact, mass media can reach to people of every age, for that reason, children are easily directly affected. This may lead to fear and some undesirable consequences, such as: being always live in bad feelings, imitating what law-breakers did, even being obsessed because of lacking life-experience and being unstable in psychology. Furthermore, it results in the feeling of insecurity among the public.

Secondly, although the purpose of warning people about many kinds bad situation caused by law-breakers, it also causes the increasing in the number of people committing crime due to the methods from TV programmes and newspaper stories about crimes. By contrast, if we restrict strictly the cause to know crime, we can cut the rate of people who break law by access to criminal skills and even the police’s detective ways from media channels.

Granted, sensational stories are more likely to attract huge readers or viewers because of satisfying people’s curiosity and adding variety to choices, in my opinion, the overwhelming bad effects have overshadowed any benefit.

In conclusion, detailed criminal description should be restricted by strict regulations to limit such broadcasting. In order to do that successfully, government and relevant organizations should co-operate for guaranteeing healthier circumstances