Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think it encourages crime. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the past century, our kind has made huge technology advancements. Those advancements broadened our views on universe, and changed our lives profoundly. Technology improved our standard of living and made a lot of our time more comfortable. Specifically, I think it discourages crime rates in the world. However, there are arguments on how it might actually encourage crime.

The most important thing which defines modern era is information. Many of engineers and scientists are working to achieve faster and more effective way of transferring that information. Nowadays, information is mostly transferred between computers and servers. A type of the information that every person on Earth needs to use is money. In past, money was always represented by a physical thing, precious metal or a piece of paper. In modern time, most of that money has become digital, it is safely stored in computers of our banks. This presents a big problem for common thieves, who make their living robbing peoples’ houses or robbing people on the streets. It is not effective anymore, because people do not carry much cash in their wallets any more. Most of their money is being used through credit cards, which need extra security information to be exploited.Also, there are also more and more surveilance systems. Cameras are placed through cities and in buildings, as well as alarms, in order to prevent outlaw activity.

Another problem for criminals is the fact that if someone has a criminal record, it could be easily accessed by authorities. For example, if a person with criminal record is trying to smuggle drugs across border of two countries, he will be checked by border police. When they check him and discover it’s past criminal activity, they will probably search the person’s stuff, and most likely will find the illegal substance.

While the technology brings new tools for dealing with the crime, they can be bypassed by smart individuals. The information era brings in whole new virtual world. Furthermore, this created a whole new, usually malicious, profession - a hacker. However, for one to become successful hacker, one needs to be very intelligent and educated in the field. Some of them possess skills to break through even the most sophisticated security systems and do great harm to the victim.

To sum it up, I think technology is discouraging crime more than it is encouraging it. Although hackers present a great danger to the modern system, I think people who are intelectually adept for such activities understand the consequences, are educated and have better alternatives than criminal work.