Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that dress codes should not be applied to modern workplaces, people should focus on work performance instead. From my point of view, I partially agree with this notion for the following chief reasons.

On the one hand, it would be inflexible if a company has a strict dress code because clothing comes as a matter of personal interest. Business owners tend to build a creative, energetic, and friendly work environment for their staff, so free dressing by everyone’s taste is an innovative implementation and may improve work effectiveness especially in tasks requiring creativity. For example, a design staff would be more satisfied with her favorite clothes because they can express her personality, making her more enjoyable and imaginative to come up with great ideas. As a result, productivity could be enhanced dramatically compared to that produced by a designer who always feels confined in a company uniform.

On the other hand, I believe that a dress code is necessary for some work situations because work performance is directly related to the sense of professionalism. In some companies without uniform or dressing restrictions, staff may wear inappropriate clothes to the workplace, which can cause annoyance for others, and lose respectability at work. Moreover, people working in customer service areas need to dress up to make an impression on customers, it is better if these employees wear a uniform that can be easily recognized, accentuating the professionalism of that organization. For example, when I consult about a product, I would find a sales staff in a garment presenting the company logo more trustworthy than a salesperson wearing a freestyle casual cloth.

In conclusion, I think that employees’ dress should be controlled in some work contexts which require competent style to gain customer’s trust. However, it should be adjusted flexibly to suit characteristics of work such as in creative areas.