Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water pollution is a top concern among environmental protectors. This essay discusses some noticeable reasons and their impacts on wildlife species and people in society.

There are two fundamental factors responsible for contamination in rivers, lakes and seas. Firstly, it is because there is a huge amount of toxic waste and litter dumped into the streams. In particular, untreated sewage and household waste disposed of by local residents dramatically pollute the rivers and sea. For example, plastic rubbish which takes a hundred years to decompose can cause congestion in sewers which in runoffs into the ocean and then the waste will be accumulated on the seabed. On the hand unprocessed domestic waste discharged into rivers and seas results in severe polluted conditions. Another element leading to pollution is chemical substances from fertilizers and pesticides from agriculture. These toxins seep into the underground water which flows and then spreads into rivers, lakes, and the ocean.

Some fundamental consequences could be recognized as this issue continues. Firstly, the water population could cause the extinction of wildlife and plants. For example, aquatic species could digest poisonous materials and rubbish in the sea could obscure the fishes’ vision which hinder their ability to feed. This could result in a gradual decline in the number of aquatic animals. Moreover, the effects of pollution on human beings is extremely grave. Inhabitants residing near the polluted rivers or lakes have a high risk to contract fatal diseases such as cancer due to food which are infected by poisons from water sources. Therefore, social health would deteriorate quickly and efforts to find cures for diseases are expensive and will put strain on the countries finances.

In conclusion, the main problems stem from wastes and toxic chemicals poured down the water drains. As a result, the damage could be enormous. This can lead to detrimental effects including the rapid disappearance of animals as well as the deterioration of the health of humans.