Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern workplace, dress codes are changing as employers focus more on results than on the rules that employees must follow. While I agree that the way people dress should be suitable for their job context. But I believe that the quality of work is as vital as the appearance of employees.

On the one hand, many employers have stopped making formal dress codes in the workplace, and I believe that is a positive trend. Some of the world's leading businesses, including technology giants such as Meta and Google, are famous for relaxed office environments where employees are encouraged to dress comfortably according to their style. Even company executives and leaders can still dress casually with just T-shirts and jeans, not necessarily in formal clothes. However, while managers and coders are free to dress how they like, they are expected to be creative and produce work of outstanding quality. It is clear that, in an innovative working environment like the technology field, there is a need for an employee to show their style or be comfortable.

On the other hand, I would also argue that rules of clothing for employees are still relevant in another field. In some job that ask the people to show a professionalism, such as doctors, police officers, and the people who work in F&B sector. These uniforms may show their personalities or have some practical function to support their job. Moreover, the uniform can show their person’s position or role in society. Similarly, a lawyer, politician, or school teacher may choose to wear formal clothing in order to show their image of professionalism and trustworthiness. I believe most of us will feel more trusting and safer to see them in smart and formal suits even if it is just an appearance.

In conclusion, I support the trend towards relaxed dress codes for workers. But I do not think this trend is suitable for all occupations or sectors of our society.