Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve Others believe individuals can also do some things to solve these problems Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some individuals think that environmental issues cannot be addressed at individual levels, while others claim that every person can contribute at their levels for solving these issues. This essay agrees that each and every individual definitely has some duties towards environmental pollution such as proper waste disposal and reduction of private car use.

Every human being has to do their bit to reverse deteriorating environmental matters. For example, we all dispose our rubbish daily and everyone should have an attitude to segregate them into perishable and non- perishable waste in order to make them easier to recycle; thereby, it minimizes the pollution. For instance, the annual newsletter of national environmental authority revealed that were everyone to separate garbage properly, the area of landfills can be reduced by 80%. In addition to that, citizens can reduce the consumption of personal automobiles. In other words, they can use public transport whenever possible and leave their car at home to reduce the levels of greenhouse gases, which cause global warming. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that 77% of greenhouse gases are emitted by the motor vehicles on the road.

However, some people think that they do not have any job to make the planet cleaner and greener. Put simply, they think that those matters are very complicated; therefore, it is not practical to give solutions at personal levels, so they leave the total responsibility to the government. However, this is a wrong perception; the best example for this is Hei Min city in Thailand where they achieve a pollution-free city in 3 years by applying zero tolerance policy. Every person there in Hei Min took care of every simple thing from throwing a piece of paper to cutting down a tree.

In conclusion, while some believe that they do not have individual tasks towards environment, others hold that they can do something for these issues. This essay agrees that every single person has their responsibility to make the earth a better place to live, such as separating waste properly and minimizing use of personal motor vehicles.