Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It has been argued that besides providing higher education, the government should assure its free approach for all individuals without caring about their financial status. Personally, when not disavowing that all citizens deserve to have opportunities to attend college, I think the idea of free tertiary education for them should be eschewed.

To begin with, there has been a consensus that education is recognized as a fundamental human right. Thus, since higher education imparts in the training system, providing its nationwide access is an obligation, not merely an action that governments should do. In addition, stepping into the 21st century, building up an egalitarian society becomes a priority for states; hence ensuring equal chances to acquire tertiary degrees can be seen as an imperative mission, especially when residents are equal in intelligence and scholastic capability.

However, free higher education for all financial classes is an unsuitable policy. Regarding to the budget problems, assisting students with their tuition fees will upsurge the government’s expenditure. This challenge, which majority of the population has ability to face, may become an unnecessary financial burden on the authority, pushing it to the verge of bankruptcy or detrimental fiscal policy, such as higher taxes. On the other hand, the significant rise in number of students also exerts a greater pressure on universities’ infrastructure and human resources, making it less likely to keep pace with the increasing dimension of training activities. Consequently, there are question marks over the training quality, as well as the interaction between lecturers and learners.

In brief I believe that although equal chances to attend universities should be ubiquitous, it is unwise for the government to provide free higher education for everyone.