Some people think family has the most powerful influence on children’s development. Others, however, believe that other things have greater effects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that there are many factors which have significant impacts on the children’ s growth. While many people believe that one of the crucial elements is family, I recommend that the other factors including friends and social relationships play an important role in their development.

On the one hand, there is no denying that children are remarkably affected by their family members, especially their parents. Before becoming mature enough to contact other relationships by themselves, children are fostered and received the domestic education and family tradition by their own parents. Furthermore, they will be more likely to continue contacting their parents and family members than other people even if they are old enough to start to go to school. As a result, children tend to imitate and be familiar with the family adults’ behaviour and habits, including in positive and negative. Without any doubt, the profound effects of family gradually build up their characteristics and personalities of the child in later life when they are young.

However, I find a variety of strong arguments about how much other relationships like friends and teachers influence children’s growth. In terms of the friend cycle, it is easy to recognize that friendships are so necessary towards a child that the cycle of friends is just ranked after their parents. When a child has opportunities to play and socialize with their friends, they are able to gain useful benefits from learning soft skills such as communicative and co-operative skills. In addition, they find more helpful experiences on schooling, which their parents cannot bring for them. Educators are willing to teach them not only academic knowledge but also ethics lessons in order to ensure a well-rounded development for children.

In conclusion, there are many supportive reasons why both family and other social relationship cycles lead to positive or negative development of a child. If people create a good environment and condition for raising and educating children, they will tend to become typical models in future, which needs the participants of both family and society.