Some people think that good health is a basic human need and that medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private heath care outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether health care services run by the state or private companies are a debated topic since good health is of paramount importance to everyone. Personally, I would advocate the idea that private firms should be encouraged to operate the health care system because this has more positives than negatives.

One of the disadvantages of private health is that it might cost patients a great deal of money for their health treatment, which put high financial pressure on them, especially the poor. This is particular the case when poor people from rural areas have to sell their valuable properties and farming land to have enough money for their cure at private hospitals.

However, it is my belief that the merits private health companies bring to people are more significant because they provide better services than state-owned health organizations. For instance, a sick person does not have to wait for a long time to be treated at private clinics and hospitals, which help them save a lot of time. This is largely beneficial, particularly for working people who are busy working as they can book their appointment with doctors in advance. Meanwhile, they may take a day off work to queue in a long line at state hospitals since early morning to see doctors.

In addition to that, private health organizations are often well-equipped with top-notch facilities such as more rooms and cutting edge medical equipment. This really helps patients ease their pain and sufferings as they feel more comfortable when they have to spend several days there. While, it is common to see that public hospitals are overloaded where patients do not have enough rooms and medical tools for treatment.

In conclusion, although there are the downsides of private health, I believe that they are outweighed by the upsides. Private health provides better services and medical facilities which are hugely beneficial for patients.