Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies.

Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it is clear that healthcare is becoming more and more indispensable in our society. Nevertheless, several people believe that medical services should not be run by profit-making companies on the grounds that having good health is fundamental to human beings. From my perspective, although private medical services can lead to certain problems, the benefits are undoubtedly greater.

On the one hand, there are various potential drawbacks when medical services are offered by private companies. Primarily, private healthcare services can be costly, especially for people who do not get a handsome salary from their jobs. People have to pay high fees due to the costs of high-tech equipment with its quick services. Additionally, our private health insurance does not cover 100% of the cost, at some particular private clinics or hospitals, private health insurance can just cover up to 60-70% of expenses, so patients have to pay the remaining amount. Secondly, sometimes, there can be hospitals or healthcare centers which are built by untrustworthy companies, they must be built for the purpose of scamming high amounts of money from citizens. Therefore, it is necessary for us to choose the right places with a high level of selectivity and verification.

On the other hand, I am concerned that the advantageous effects that are gained from private healthcare services outweigh the detrimental effects. Firstly, private clinics can be key to mitigating the workload of public medical centers. It is discernible that prestigious hospitals are overloaded because everyone wants seasoned staff to take care of their health instead of the fresh ones who just graduated from medical school. However, with comfortable and upgraded facilities, private medical services attract more and more citizens so that people can enjoy greater services. Moreover, private healthcare centers could also provide the chance for employment for young people to apply and also have an opportunity to earn higher pay rates.

In conclusion, medical services run by profit-making companies can both have advantageous and disadvantageous effects. Although there are several problems that need to be considered, the potential benefits of it are undeniable and even overshadow its negative side.