Some people think the government funding should not be

used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting

cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the

culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are opposing views regarding whether the government should set up a fund to support art and culture or whether it is better to focus on other fields. While the former is good for well-developed countries in the long run, the latter is more suitable for developing ones in the short term.

As for megacities, it can be significantly advantageous if government invest more money in cultural activities. By doing this, many traditional and cultural values of local areas will be preserved and promoted, which makes these cities become more interesting for foreign visitors. Japan, for instance, is not only famous for its technological advances but also for the Sakura Festival, which is extremely attractive to tourists. Thanks to this, Japan has become a favourite destination for people who are fascinated by its culture.

In the short term, however, if president gives a priority to other issues, there will be more advantages for their country as a whole. It is indeed the case that most of people in developing countries such as Africa are still living in poverty so using this amount of money for healthcare, facility and security is more reasonable. In other words, the standard of living in these should be risen rather than merely developing tourism sector. Another reason worth mentioning is that promoting tourism means the city's infrastructure must be upgraded constantly, thus these costs are unaffordable.

In conclusion, while investing in cultural activities is highly beneficial for the economy of most countries, taking consideration into financial capacity is crucially important.