Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Childhood obesity is one of the most concerned issues in each society. Some individuals attribute the ever-increasing cases of children getting obesity to the responsibility of the government. From my perspective, I do not agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

There is evidence to demonstrate that parents and a sedentary lifestyle assume main responsibilities for the excessive weight gain in children. To begin with, due to hectic schedule, parents nowadays do not have sufficient time to prepare home-cooked meals for their kids. As a result, children in this day and age tend to consume fast food or high fat content dishes on a regular basis without parents' consent and gain weight. Additionally, it is a fact that modern kids rarely engage in such physically demanding activities as doing sports or taking exercises although schools and gym centres offers them top-notch exercising facilities. They express a preference over sitiing in front of computer screens for hours and lying on bed binge-watching Netflix series. Therefore, the risks of neing diagnosed with obesity in children are higher. Indeed, I hold a firm belief that the increase in number of overweight kids is due to the lack of home-prepared meals and an inactive way of life.

Opponents may say that the government have to hold responsibility for the rise in obesity in children as they do not discuss over this issue frequently on periodic government sessions and do not pay much attention to solving this problem. Although it may be true to some extent, I have to argue that the governemnt always take a priority over children's health conditions and basic rights. Multitude of research and studies reporting the high rates of children getting obese are conducted and numerous warnings about the consequences of childhood obesity are given by the ministry of healthportal through television programs or direct messengers to residents. Obviously, the government care about the increasing cases of overweight children and take proper measures to warn the parents of the detrimental effects of childhood obesity but this issue is still common in society because parents do not take enough care of their kids and a sedentary lifestyle is gaining ground among children.

In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that children get obese because their parents do not prepare nutritious meals for them and they do not partake in outdoor activities. Therefore, parents and kids themselves are responsible for the rise in obesity in children, not the authorities.