Some people think the government should pay for health care and education, but other people claim that it is the individual’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many countries, ensuring healthcare and education are always at the top priorities of citizens and governments. While many argue that it is the government’s responsibility to allocate money for its people’s healthcare and education, I firmly support the idea that each individual should shoulder the burden of medical and educational services.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why the provision of education and healthcare should be made by the government. Firstly, as people have to pay different kinds of taxes for the authorities, these funds should be beneficial for the citizen in return. Some proportions of the budget might be used to guarantee that all citizens can have access to medical and educational services easily, which also helps to reduce the inequity between areas among a country. The other reason to support the idea is the country can improve its economy by ensuring citizens’ health and education. Having a lot of healthy and sophisticated people means there are more labors, scientists and professionals to make the country sustainably developed.

Despite of the aforementioned arguments, I still believe that each individual must take responsibility to cover the medical and educational costs. One rational reason is that receiving support from the government can create a great dependence on the residents. To raise people’s awareness about protecting their own health and maintain their educational path, they should use the money from their own wallets. For example, covering the costly fees of medical services can make them treasure their own health and might adopt some healthy lifestyle such as eating diet or doing exercise. In addition, there would be less budget to support other domains like environment, military and security if the country spends too much money on healthcare and education, which can hamper this nation from ensuring its sustainable development.

In conclusion, although the government’s support for medical and educational services is advantageous for citizens, I strongly advocate the idea that it should be individuals’ responsibility to pay for these expenses.