Some people think the government should subsidize fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In this era, the problem of people consuming unhealthy diets has become pressing in many different countries. With the rising fast-food chain in urban cities, eating sugary and high-calorie snacks is trending. Therefore, there are calls for the government to promote the habit of healthy fruits and vegetables through subsidies or to increase the price of junk food through taxation. In this essay, I will look at the positives of each approach and give my personal opinion.

On the one hand, it is commonly considered that making healthy foods less expensive can encourage citizens to develop balanced diets. At the same time, since families are tempted to buy affordable vegetables, it will significantly reduce their total living costs. In another way, this action gradually keeps people away from eating junk food which can cause health issues. Furthermore, the government can support the local farmers whose roles are taken for granted in the community.

On the other hand, many people could argue that by imposing more taxes on fast-food restaurants, people will rarely dine there and it can halt the growing fast-food industry. Especially adults and teenagers will also be forced to switch off their sedentary lifestyle, in terms of food input. Evidence reveals that in the UK, instant improvements can be seen in the residents’ daily meals as soon as the sugar-tax system was released.

In summary, both policies are able to improve the health of the country, from rural areas to cities. On balance, I tend to believe that the best way forward might be the combination of the two mentioned strategies. The governments should collect funding from the increased taxes on unhealthy food and utilize them in reducing the price of healthy foods.