Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Society with a heritage have been long considered as sophisticated and advanced. However, the recent financial crisis of the lavishness and expense should be questioned. Tax payers money has to be spent more practically rather than on cultural endeavours. Firstly not everyone appreciates arts I'm the society. Secondly, the employment has to be precedenced.

Art is any form that brings quality into one's life, if interested. Amongst art lovers, technically there are many minorities and other activities such as sports are more popular. Take football as an example, across the globe there are so many people who are watching the matches in the stadium than looking at the sculptures or art. This fact makes it look impossible to say art is bringing quality into one's life.

Secondly, the resources diverted to such projects comes from public and should be spent in a way that benefits them. Commission and purchasing art is an insult to the tax payers who endure poor high unemployment such as those in Newcastle, UN. This city suffers from high unemployment yet council commissioned a large sculpture called 'Angel of the North'. Financing a job creation project would undoubtedly have been more practical for local community.

To conclude, I believe it is an unjust affirmation that art brings quality into one's life that the money should be spent elsewhere. This is because art benefits only for a small minority and secondly the expense included should benefit the majority. In the future, governments will recognise that quality in one's life derives from decent opportunity in life, not a sculpture.