Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere To what extent do you agree with this view

Arts are a key to displaying the traditions and the face of any country to the world. Therefore, heavy investments in arts by governments are debatable. Some say that it is wasted money and others support this type of investment.

Firstly, investing in arts is a smart move, which makes countries popular and glorified. Secondly, such investment enables any country to make use of the creativity of its youth and their passion of arts. This generates revenues for the country and popularise its culture and traditions. Moreover, it utilises artists’ abilities in developing the country and playing a role in making its name heard in a broader context. An art-oriented county is most likely to attract tourists and become a host of international art festivals, which basically means more revenues and more development.

On the other hand, some may claim that these funds are better used to tackle more crucial issues such as poverty and eying a cleaner and healthier environment. For an African country, for instance, it is undoubtedly more important to invest in a healthier and better quality of life for the people rather than “colouring a piece of wood”. Not only do arts possess a huge amount of the governments’ budget, but it also keeps people’s attention away from identifying real and more threatening challenges to our communities and environment.

To conclude, it is clearly beneficial for countries to invest in arts, but the true development of countries lies in a more diversely organised budget, with education, health and sports are the utmost importance.