Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree?

It is undeniable that the arts play a crucial role in human society, however, there has been concern among some individuals that government’s revenue is being contributed excessively to this creative field and that it could be effectively allocated elsewhere. While I partly agree with this view, I will argue that investment in the arts is worthy.

There’s no denying that authority must equally distribute money to a vast number of priorities which are immensely essential for the community as a whole, such as education, infrastructure, health care and welfare. They are all key features which have the direct impact on the well-being of billions of people worldwide. Developed nations with high standard living, namely, Sweden, Denmark, The UK, The US are investing a multitudinous amount of money on those mentioned sectors annually to assure a pleasant life for their citizens.

Despite of the fact that national leaders should prioritize the factors above when considering the distribution of state budget, they should acknowledge the importance of arts to the population and countries as well. On the one hand, they immensely help us to alleviate stress in the busy modern life. For example, after a long, tiring day at work, people often opt for movies or artistic performances to unwind themselves. On the other hand, the arts are also considered the cultural bridge between the past and the present of one’s country. Youngsters find it accessible to attain comprehension and useful knowledge about their country through recreational artistic masterpieces. Some traditional artwork in Vietnam, for instance, water puppet shows portraying historical events as well as cultural Vietnamese folklore are applauded widely because of their educational content and creative approach to people of all ages.

In conclusion, although I agree that state funding should be spent wisely for various purposes, it’s completely worth it to be allocated for the arts.