Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

A number of people believe that the government had better focus their finances on other fields instead of the arts. I disagree with this statement because although the government’s budget should be spent to solve problems in education and healthcare, some public artworks deserve investment as well.

On the one hand, I recognize that there are several important fields that require government’s money. Firstly, it is obvious that education should be heavily invested by the authorities. Education in each country is said to play a vital role in shaping the nation's future as its initial aim is to provide the younger generation with a wide range of knowledge and hands-on skills so that they can be able to develop their country. Hence, governments ought to set aside a large amount of money for this area. Secondly, apart from education, the healthcare system also demands the government’s financial resources. If it were not for the economic support of the government, there would be a multiple of severe issues remained insoluble, which definitely could lead to the lack of human resources to devote to the country.

On the other hand, I would argue that public artworks are beneficial to society, therefore, they should receive government’s funds. The first reason is that many statues and sculptures represent the culture and certain historical phases of the country, so it is understandable that the government should take into consideration to invest in these artworks. For example, the Eiffel Tower in Paris which symbolizes the nation’s politics, engineering and technological revolution, has become the pride of France, thus, its construction and maintenance have been financially supported by the authority. In addition, many pieces of arts have been viewed as national tourist attractions, consequently, allocating an amount of money in governmental budget for arts can return the country with desirable incomes.

In conclusion, I believe that not only education and healthcare deserve money from the government, but the arts should also be considered as well in order to boost the national income and to preserve famous heritages.