Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere To what extent do you agree with this view

Whether arts are worthy of being invested in by governments or not has been questioned by some as the expenditure on various art types skyrockets every passing year. This essay will offer my viewpoint on this matter as to why governments should emphasize developing arts.

Arts are catharses for humans, which help them share their feelings with fellow homo sapiens regardless of their living era. Take paintings or doodles carved on stones that date back to thousands of years ago, for instance, people today can still relate to their authors by interpreting the artworks they leave behind, irrespective of the generation gap. Or how a student in Vietnam in the 21st century can grasp how bereft a French person felt during the French Revolution. Acknowledging this effect, governments spend heavily on arts to pay homage to different cultural values.

Understanding arts underpins open-mindedness as humans can hardly empathize with the feelings they have never had. By studying expressive materials, they can understand others’ viewpoints more throughout, which also applies to abstract paintings or in-comprehensive paragraphs. Sympathy enables humanity to tighten their bonds with others and inaugurates a golden age for human understandings as all feelings are considered equally valid.

All in all, the arts are worth investing as they advocate mutual understandings between humans of distinctive cultures, generations, guaranteeing a future of globalization.