Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present

Debating about whether to study past history or not has become a common topic among people in this contemporary era. I firmly contend that history is the best guide for present and future.

On the first hand, some individuals believe that studying past events is crucial has their own valid reasons. It is simply because, many of the present day problems are linked directly with the past actions and therefore, studying history would help us to teach not to repeat the past actions that lead to serious repercussions. For instance, the environmental problems that we are facing today are the results of our devastating actions. Such as, rise in global warming and climate change has seen in past decade due to increase of vehicles and usage of choloro-flouro carbon products in various equipments for example, refrigerator and air conditioner. Hence, studying history would not only help us to provide some solutions to existing problems by banning products that cause global warming potentially but also to avoid further repeating any cumbersome action that put loads on earth.

On the other hand, there are others demographics who assert that looking into the history is a mere wastage of time as it couldnot change our present or future because, man is only progressing towards technology and a person should invest time in present or future rather than past. Many science breakthroughs, for instance, discovery of gravity by 'Einstien' was a random event and it has nothing in relation to the past events. Also if a person lives in past thoughts than he/she is ruining the present day opportunities, which are holding its own beauties. Thus, many individuals believe that studying history is time wastage.

To conclude, Although masses contend that history has nothing to do with present and it only consumes time, I am of the notion that past events work not only as torch to guide us through our present but also to frame strategies to overcome the upcoming and existing problems.