Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There is a view that, conducting sports on a global level is beneficial for the country. While some people argue that this is not good, I agree with those who argue that such an approach is valuable.

Looking firstly at the negatives, not all countries have the financial ability to host sports events and also invest huge sums of money without the guarantee of returns. This is because, organizing events means countires should build infrastructure and arenas and be in a state to cater the participants coming from other parts of the world with accommodation, food and other resources which would require significant funds. These funds could be used for other fundamental uses in the country such as healthcare and education which incur prosperity of the country.

However, I believe that international sports events galvanize athletes into performing better. They also serve as a source of education . Moreover, they afford multiple opportunities and provide greater exposure to the athletes and in case an athlete wins the competition this would earn a good name for their country bringing recognition and honor. Moreover, such events could engender new jobs oppurtunities and employ people in jobs such as trainers, program managers and many more. In addition, countries can open tourists visas for sports lovers. This, in turn, would generate great revenue and boost the economy.