some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a common belief that high-tech gadgets such as computers and mobile phones have become popular in today’s society. While these modern devices could have some detrimental consequences to young people’s reading and writing capability, there is more compelling evidence that they have a larger positive impact on improving such skills.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why the over-dependence on modern communication devices would negatively affect young people’s reading and writing ability. Firstly, if young people read books or news on mobile phones or computers connected to the internet, they could not entirely concentrate on it. This is because they are more likely to be distracted by some attractive apps, such as facebook, switter or games, thus they do not have sufficient time for reading activities. This lack of reading practices would obviously lead to poor reading competence. In addition, there are lots of software programs now available on almost all electronic devices making young people sedentary in writing skills. Microsoft Office, for instance, offers users convinient functions that help correct grammatical mistakes automatically when composing text documents. Such habits could facilitate the way they interact, but impair their writing skills in the long term.

On the other hand, I would argue that the proper use of computers and mobile phones would significantly contribute to the improvement of reading and writing skills. An important reason is that by using those devices with access to the internet, users could get an unlimited source of information, ranging from news to novels whenever they want. Particularly, for those who learn languages, technological devices are useful tools which allow them to form a good habit of daily reading and enrich their vocabularies. Another reason is that with the development of social networking sites, young people now can easily create blogs and express their thoughts. For example, some teenagers who frequently travel often update stories about natural scenery that they visited. By writing on a daily basis, their writing skills are certainly improved.

In conclusion, notwithstanding computers and mobile phones are disadvantageous to enhancing the young generation’s reading and writing skills, I am of the strong opinion that such technology devices would bring about lots of benefits if they have got proper usage.