Some people think that individuals are naturally good leaders. Others think that leadership skills can be learned. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In competive labor market, one of the responsibilities that many people are asked for is management skills. This leads to a discussion whether this ability is a born gift or it can be leant. From my perspective, I lean toward the latter idea and in this essay, I will address both views of this controversy.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to assume that leadership is an innate trait. Needless to say, genes and biological characteristics contribute a major part to one’s abilities. Due to different structures of brains and how they function, some people can have better strategic intelligence and higher self-confidence, which are the qualities to be a good leader, and these qualities seem to be passed down from one generation to another generation. An evidence for innate leader is Bill Gates. Bill Gates’ mother was on the boards of the financial firms of First Interstate BancSystem and the United Ways of America, and his maternal grandfather was the chairman of a federal bank. Bill Gates, who is a co-founder of Microsoft, thus inherited his family’s business mind and leadership skills and set up one of the largest companies all over the world. Therefore, it is understandable why some would argue that leadership can be born with.

On the other hand, I believe leader’s qualities are able to be achieved through practicing. Some leadership skills such as negotiating or analizing can be obtained through disciplined environments. For example, a lot of programmes and events have been opened to train these skills. By participating in such public speaking or debations, individuals can enhance their confidence and analytical mind. Moreover, it is also suggested that people can learn leader’s abilities by following the leaders and observing their behaviors and actions. This practice can help them imitate their leaders and gain experience for themselves.

In conclusion, because of the facts mentioned above, while it is understandable why some people argue that leaders’ qualities are a gift, I am with those contending leadership skills can be learnt through education and in the ideal environments.