Some people think that an international car-free day is an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, contamination has become an alarming issue across the globe. There is a popular claim that internationally organizing a no-car day is a key in handling this matter while other measures are believed to be more effective. In my view, the latter is by far plausible.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that a car-free day in the worldwide can address pollution. Firstly, without cars on streets, even on a day, the quantity of exhaust fumes, which come mainly from different means of transportation, could be minimized. This means that the level of air pollution would be subjected to a decrease and the air quality would become gradually fresher and cleaner in the long term. Secondly, with regard to an event celebrated in the global scale, it seems to make great contribution in raising public awareness. As a result, people are encouraged to prioritize other vehicles such as bus or subway rather than their own vehicles, which can cultivate a better commuting habit in the community for many years to come.

On the other hand, I am in the favor of other solutions which are of more importance. What is worth noting is that the main culprit of pollution is industrial activities, thus, the government should reach the international cooperation to set a limit of exhaust fumes from industry field into the environment. For instance, the 24th C.O.P conference, held in Paris, suggested that America would have to cut down its amount of exhaust by 5%, with an aim to reduce the level of Greenhouse Effect by 10%. Furthermore, people should make the most of renewable energy from solar, wind and hydro as they are incredibly eco-friendly and cost-efficient.

In conclusion, even though it is a good idea to have a day with no cars, the exploitation of alternative energy and reaching of global collaboration are more useful ways in tackling contamination.