Some people think it is acceptable to use animals for the benefit of humans. Other people think it is wrong to exploit animals for human purpose.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about animal protection and animal rights. However, whether we should utilize animals for human purposes has recently caused a heated debate. In my view, it is acceptable to reasonably use animals for the benefit of mankind and impossible to completely cut down the human’s reliance on animals.

It is clear that human beings are standing at the top of the food chain of this planet. As big fish eat smaller ones, mankind uses animals for its own benefit, which is consistent with natural law. So, it is hard to say that we are doing wrong by exploiting animals for our interests.

Moreover, it is unrealistic to ban using animals since the history of human civilization is entwined with the history of the ways we have learned to manipulate animal resources. We have raised cattle for food, the outcomes of animal experiments have saved many lives, and people have even kept pets to satisfy their psychological needs. If using animals were prohibited, we would firstly close thousands of KFC and McDonald’s franchises around the world, because they are slaughtering lovely chicken to make money! Moreover, everyone in this world would become a vegetarian.

This is not to say that it is always right for people to use animals for any purpose whatsoever. Some people hunt wild animals just for fun; others kill rare animals for their expensive furs. Indeed, these behaviors are not only cruel and unnecessary, but actually against long-term interests of human race. Human should shoulder their responsibilities of maintaining the diversity of wild animals and the balance of ecosystem.

In summary, using animals rationally for the benefit of humans is justified. Meanwhile, some behaviors that are harmful to both animals and humans have to be prohibited. By doing so, we can ensure that our next generation will also benefit from animal resource.